10 chairs being set up in different Universities in the name of renowned women

The University Grants Commission (UGC) with the assistance of UGC, Ministry of Women and Child Development is setting up 10 Chairs in different fields with an aim to carry out research activities to encourage women. The initiative is called ‘Establishment of Chairs in the University in the Name of Eminent Women Administrators/ Artists/ Scientists/ Social reformers’. The main objective of establishing the Chairs in the name of eminent women from India, is to inspire women to pursue higher education and to achieve excellence in their various areas of work. This initiative of highlighting and celebrating women achievers of the country will motivate the young girls and women towards pursuing higher studies.

The distinguished women in whose names chairs are s likely to be established are : Devi AhilyabaiHolkar (Administration); Mahadevi Varma (Literature); Rani Gaidinliu (Freedom Fighter (North East)); Anandibai Gopalrao Joshi (Medicine & Health); M.S. Subbulakshmi (Performing Art); Amrita Devi (Beniwal) (Forest/Wildlife Conservation); Lilavati (Mathematics); Kamala Sohonie (Science); Lalleshwari (LalDed) (Poetry & Mysticism); Hansa Mehta (Educational Reforms). The financial implication of establishing the Chairs is Rs. 50.00 lakhs per Chair per annum.